Conductor Stephen RazoConductor Stephen M. Razo

Musical Director Stephen Razo has had an extensive and varied career in the music field. He is a former award winning high school instrumental music director, an accomplished former Air Force military band commander, a published composer/arranger, and currently conducts the prestigious Moreno Valley Wind Symphony.

Mr. Razo began his professional career as a high school music education instructor in the Oxnard Unified School District in Ventura County, CA and in the Glendale School District, Phoenix, AZ. where he directed award winning high school programs between 1975 and 1982.  In 1982, he was chosen, through national audition by Col. Arnold Gabriel, then commander of the Air Force Band, Washington D.C., to enter the Air Force band program as a commander. As an Air Force military band commander, he was the Deputy Band Commander at the Air Force Academy, Band Commander of the Air University Band, Montgomery, Al, and the commander of the Band of the Air Force Reserve in Warner Robins, GA. While under his command, the Air University Band and the Band of the Air Force Reserve received the Air Force Outstanding Unit Award.

He transitioned into Air Force Public Affairs full time and became public affairs director for the 452 Air Mobility Wing at March AFB in 1991 and then became the host public affairs spokesman for March Air Reserve Base from 1996-99. Mr. Razo is currently Director of External Affairs for the Bureau of Land Management, California Desert District, located in Moreno Valley, Ca.

He began conducting the Moreno Valley Wind Symphony in 1998. The wind symphony has enjoyed phenomenal growth in the last few years as the ensemble enters another year of musical excellence under the direction of Mr. Stephen Razo.

Meet the Band


Becky Georgiades

Sophia Gray

Rachel Builteman

Julie Olson (Picc.)

Teresa Peck

Debby McDonald

Kishan Patel

Ivy Gin


Oboe/English Horn

Irene Liebenberg


Bb Clarinet

Donald Cerchia
Mario Gutierrez

Nancy Robinson

Janet Terry

Jane Doetsch

Tony Lozano

John Dillon

Kim Mejia

Danielle Pahmeirer


Bass Clarinet
Heather Esparza



Ivan Benitez
Frances Scoggin








Alto Saxophone

Susan Olsen

Ben Gonzalez

Jay Hakomaki


Tenor Saxophone

Cathy Thompson


Baritone Sax

Nathan McCuistion



Amado Ruvalcaba

James Ana
Jessica Pradetto

Jennifer Ricci

Shawn Schive

Cory Peters

Stephanie Rittenhouse

Amanda Blanco

Gustavo Rivera

Tom Brown


French Horn

Dan Murrell
Joey Costantino
Luke Hilland

Quintin Toma

Samantha Francis

Lindsay Robinson







Matthew Moe
Avelino Aquino

Fiona Karbel



Dan Thompson
Jenna McConnell

Richard Jacobs

Ray Martinez

Harrison Toma

Lorenzo Williams



Terry Douglas

Nick St. Clair

Dale Moore

Brenden Toma

Jason Roberts


String Bass

Les Woodsen


Matthew McConnell
Mike O’Neal
John Myers
Jared McConnell

Patrick Tavarez



Shayler Barnes